Obtain JSON list of all concerts for artist

Obtain JSON list of all concerts for artist

Posted 25 Jan 2021, 16:44:00

HI,

I'm a long time programmer, use JSON, and code in Swift on iOS, tvOS, and macOS.

I would like to query the setlist.fm database for all concerts ever performed by an artist, which includes the venue and GPS coordinates of the venue.

I've looked at the API, and it is not apparent how I might achieve my goal with multiple queries or other. Would appreciate any guidance or an example on how this might be achieved.

Thanks so much,
Brian

Re: Obtain JSON list of all concerts for artist

Posted 26 Jan 2021, 7:23:18

I would like to query the setlist.fm database for all concerts ever performed by an artist,

The /1.0/artist/{mbid}/setlists endpoint is the one that does that (GPS coordinates are not available).

I've looked at the API, and it is not apparent how I might achieve my goal with multiple queries or other.

In order to improve the docs: What wasn't apparent? I'm wondering since it's the second one in the list of endpoints. An answer would be greatly appreciated.

Posted 26 Jan 2021, 14:47:28

Let's start with some basics. This will give perspective of a Newby to the API.

- I created my setlist.fm account, and logged in. I have an API Key.
- The mbid for the group Queen is 0383dadf-2a4e-4d10-a46a-e9e041da8eb3
- I go to endpoint /1.0/artist/{mbid} and enter the queen mbid - I click 'try it out' and I receive an error saying “Not Acceptable”
- the URL returned is:

https://api.setlist.fm/rest/1.0/artist/0383dadf-2a4e-4d10-a46a-e9e041da8eb3

Typing this in a browser produces the same error.

Why does this not return proper result?

0383dadf-2a4e-4d10-a46a-e9e041da8eb3

Last edited 26 Jan 2021, 14:48:41

Posted 27 Jan 2021, 7:19:10

I click 'try it out' and I receive an error saying “Not Acceptable”