Madonna Tour-Debuts "Express Yourself" in Boston

Madonna still has some surprises up her sleeve.

Monday night at the sold out TD Garden in Boston, the 65-year-old icon who has made a career-spanning four decades accented by shocking audiences, wowed the crowd by dusting off, "Express Yourself," an old favorite from the late-'80s.

Not only did the superstar sing the feminist anthem in the middle of her 26-song set, but she did it on an acoustic guitar, slowly, so the 19,500 fans could join her.

But before she did that, she expressed how happy she was four of her six "beautiful, intelligent, and opinionated" children have been performing with her on the tour that began last October in London.

"I wish the other two were here too, but they've moved on," she said donning a cowboy hat with a giant horseshoe adornment.

“I’m very grateful, because while they may need me as a mother, I must admit that I need them,” she said blonde braids flowing from beneath her Stetson. “And I need you, and we need each other. Because family isn’t just what you’re born into. Family is the family that you create.”

Madonna then invited the audience to turn the light on their mobile phones if they felt like they were part of her family. When they did she called it beautiful, thanked them, and broke into an acapella moment of "This Little Light Of Mine," a century-old song whose writer remains unknown.

Some may look at that brief musical aside as a throwaway lullaby a mom would sing to her small child at bedtime, but in context with "Express Yourself," it's a complimentary tune that fits perfectly.

Some believe "This Little Light..." is inspired by a well-repeated Bible verse in the book of Matthew where the child of the original Madonna, inspires the crowd during his famous sermon on the mount to not be afraid to express themselves.

“You are the light of the world," Jesus told the massive crowd. "A city set on a hill cannot be hid. Nor do men light a lamp and put it under a bushel, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works..."

Which is precisely what Madonna is doing on this celebratory career-spanning world tour. She is letting her little light shine in the faces of her critics who say she's too old and to the naysayers who claim she doesn't have it any more.

In one of the several video clips that played between acts is something she said from the 2016 Billboard Woman of the Year presentation where she was honored.

“I think the most controversial thing I have ever done is to stick around,” she said.

Monday's gig was the first of a two-night stand in Boston, a pair of dates that had been originally planned for August but had to be rescheduled after Madonna encountered a health scare.

So when word came out Monday evening that the show would be delayed a few hours due to "intricacies" of the production, the Bostonians rolled with it since they had been waiting months for this.

The TD Garden has a strict 11pm curfew. If and when acts go long, they are fined steep sums for putting the arena's union employees into overtime.

Madonna, who has sold over 300 million records did not seemed to be phased by the fine. She hit the stage at 10:15pm and took her final bows more than two hours later.

Could there be more surprises in store for North American audiences as the Queen of Pop continues to shine her little light over the next few months?

Why yes. Notably absent from this tour has been "Like A Virgin" and "Material Girl," two of her biggest hits easily worth celebrating.

Nab your tickets while they're still available on Madonna's website.

Madonna North American Leg of the Celebration Tour

Thu, Jan 11                       Toronto, CA                       Scotiabank Arena
Fri, Jan 12                          Toronto, CA                       Scotiabank Arena
Mon, Jan 15                        Detroit, US                         Little Caesars Arena
Thu, Jan 18                         Montreal, QC                    Bell Centre
Sat, Jan 20                           Montreal, QC                    Bell Centre
Mon, Jan 22                        New York, NY                    Madison Square Garden
Tue, Jan 23                          New York, NY                    Madison Square Garden
Thu, Jan 25                         Philadelphia, PA               Wells Fargo Center
Mon, Jan 29                        New York, NY                    Madison Square Garden
Thu, Feb 1                           Chicago, IL                          The United Center
Fri, Feb 2                              Chicago, IL                          The United Center
Mon, Feb 5                         Pittsburgh, US                   PPG Paints Arena
Thu, Feb 8                           Cleveland, US                    Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse
Tue, Feb 13                         Saint Paul, MN                 Xcel Energy Center
Sat, Feb 17                          Seattle, US                         Climate Pledge Arena
Sun, Feb 18                         Seattle, US                         Climate Pledge Arena
Wed, Feb 21                       Vancouver, BC                   Rogers Arena
Sat, Feb 24                          Sacramento, US                Golden 1 Center
Tue, Feb 27                         San Francisco, CA             Chase Center
Wed, Feb 28                       San Francisco, CA             Chase Center
Fri, Mar 1                             Las Vegas, US                     T-Mobile Arena
Sat, Mar 2                            Las Vegas, US                     T-Mobile Arena
Mon, Mar 4                        Los Angeles, CA                 Kia Forum
Tue, Mar 5                          Los Angeles, CA                 Kia Forum
Thu, Mar 7                          Los Angeles, CA                 Kia Forum
Sat, Mar 9                            Los Angeles, CA                 Kia Forum
Mon, Mar 11                       Los Angeles, CA                 Kia Forum
Wed, Mar 13                      Palm Springs, US               Acrisure ArenaS
at, Mar 16                         Phoenix, US                        Footprint Center
Tue, Mar 19                        Denver, US                          Ball Arena
Sun, Mar 24                        Dallas, TX                             American Airlines Center
Mon, Mar 24                      Dallas, TX                             American Airlines Center
Thu, Mar 28                        Houston, TX                        Toyota Centre
Fri, Mar 29                          Houston, TX                        Toyota Centre
Mon, Apr 1                          Atlanta, US                          State Farm Arena
Thu, Apr 4                           Tampa, FL                            Amalie Arena
Sat, Apr 6                             Miami, US                            Miami-Dade Arena
Sun, Apr 7                           Miami, US                            Miami-Dade Arena
Sun, Apr 14                         Austin, TX                            Moody Center
Mon, Apr 15                       Austin, TX                            Moody Center

The Celebration Tour Mexico Dates
Sat, Apr 20                          Mexico City, MX                Palacio De Los Deportes
Sun, Apr 21                         Mexico City, MX                Palacio De Los Deportes
Tue, Apr 23                         Mexico City, MX                Palacio De Los Deportes
Wed, Apr 24                       Mexico City, MX                Palacio De Los Deportes

Karma Police - Please Share:

Most played songs

Last updated: 18 May 2024, 02:18 Etc/UTC