Jelly Roll Announces Beautifully Broken Tour

Jelly Roll, the lovable, soulful country singer and rapper with the face tattoos has announced a summer tour around the U.S.

The 39-year-old star, born Jason DeFord, will be bouncing from one arena to the next on the Beautifully Broken Tour singing hits like "Save Me" and [I Only Talk To God When I] "I Need A Favor," from 2023's Whitsitt Chapel.

Even though that album was his seventh studio record, the Grammys gave him a Best New Artist nomination anyway. He lost out to Victoria Monét.

If anyone could shake off a loss it's Jelly Roll whose struggles with substances and breaking the law led him to spend a decade in and out of prisons. Many of his best songs are about the redemption and blessings he has received.

"Save Me" has been played more than 210 million times on YouTube.

“I had to learn that you could drink alcohol without doing cocaine. It took me a long time to learn that,” he told People in December.

“I've never said that, but that's real. There was a long time where I just assumed, when people told me they drank without doing cocaine, I was like, I thought we only drank to do cocaine.”

In November DeFord had a great night at the Country Music Awards. He sang a powerful duet of "Need A Favor" with Wynonna Judd and then he won Best New Artist.

But as luck would have it, he promptly dropped his trophy which shattered into countless pieces. Good ol' Jelly Fingers Jelly Roll.

This tour announcement isn't the first bit of news Jelly Roll has made in 2024. In January he was invited to Capitol Hill to speak for a few minutes in front of the Senate Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Committee chaired by U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH).

He wanted to talk about the Fentanyl epidemic, a topic close to his heart.

Jelly Roll speaks to the Senate

"I am neither Democrat nor Republican," he pointed out in his 5 minute speech. "In fact, because of my past, my right to vote has been restricted, therefore I have never paid attention to a political race in my life. Ironically, I think that makes me the perfect person to speak about this because fentanyl transcends partisanship and ideology, gentlemen and women. This is a totally different problem."

He added, "190 people a day overdose and die every single day in the United States of America. That's what about a 737 aircraft can carry. Could you imagine the national media attention it would get if they were reporting that a plane was crashing every single day and killing 190 people? But because it's 190 drug addicts, we don't feel that way – because America has been known to bully and shame drug addicts instead of dealing and trying to understand what the actual root of the problem is with that."

As if Jelly Roll's rags to riches story wasn't dramatic enough, he's also married to a woman he first met while performing to 20 people in the Fremont Street section of Las Vegas. She instantly became smitten with him despite the fact he was homeless, living in an old van driving from gig to gig.

The pair married after a very brief period of time and have ridden his astonishing ascent together.

This arena tour is just another highlight.

Tickets go on sale on his website next week. Sign up to get notified.

Tue Aug 27 – Salt Lake City, UT – Delta Center
Wed Aug 28 – Nampa, ID – Ford Idaho Center
Fri Aug 30 – Spokane, WA – Spokane Arena
Sat Aug 31 – Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena
Sun Sep 1 – Portland, OR – Moda Center
Tue Sep 3 – San Jose, CA – SAP Center
Wed Sep 4 – Sacramento, CA – Golden 1 Center
Fri Sep 6 – Los Angeles, CA – Crypto.com Arena
Sat Sep 7 – Anaheim, CA – Honda Center
Mon Sep 9 – El Paso, TX – Don Haskins Center
Wed Sep 11 – San Antonio, TX – Frost Bank Center
Fri Sep 13 – Lafayette, LA – CAJUNDOME
Sat Sep 14 – New Orleans, LA – Smoothie King Center
Tue Sep 17 – Orlando, FL – Kia Center
Thu Sep 19 – Charleston, SC – North Charleston Coliseum
Fri Sep 20 – Raleigh, NC – PNC Arena
Sat Sep 21 – Washington, DC – Capital One Arena
Tue Sep 24 – Albany, NY – MVP Arena
Thu Sep 26 – Boston, MA – TD Garden
Fri Sep 27 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden
Sat Sep 28 – Belmont Park, NY – UBS Arena
Sun Sep 29 – Newark, NJ – Prudential Center
Tue Oct 1 – State College, PA – Bryce Jordan Center
Wed Oct 2 – Philadelphia, PA – Wells Fargo Center
Sat Oct 5 – Pittsburgh, PA – PPG Paints Arena
Sun Oct 6 – Buffalo, NY – KeyBank Center
Wed Oct 9 – Columbus, OH – Nationwide Arena
Fri Oct 11 – Chicago, IL – United Center
Sat Oct 12 – Louisville, KY – KFC Yum! Center
Tue Oct 15 – Wichita, KS – INTRUST Bank Arena
Fri Oct 18 – Tulsa, OK – BOK Center
Sun Oct 20 – Bossier City, LA – Brookshire Grocery Arena
Tue Oct 22 – Little Rock, AR – Simmons Bank Arena
Wed Oct 23 – St Louis, MO – Enterprise Center
Fri Oct 25 – Knoxville, TN – Thompson-Boling Arena at Food City Center
Sat Oct 26 – Atlanta, GA – State Farm Arena
Sun Oct 27 – Charlotte, NC – Spectrum Center

Karma Police - Please Share:

Most played songs

Last updated: 23 Apr 2024, 07:30 Etc/UTC