Nicki Minaj Kicks Off Pink Friday 2 Tour with Nine Live Debuts

Nicki Minaj has been a busy bee but one thing she hasn't been doing is touring. That drought came to an end on Friday March 1 when she kicked off her Pink Friday 2 World Tour in Oakland.

The setlist spans 35 tracks of her Grammy-nominated catalogue of five albums and even includes a segment in between Acts 5 and 6 where Monica came out and performed a half dozen tunes.

Minaj's most recent effort, Pink Friday 2 accounted for 46% of the sold out show, but when you're talking about hits like "Super Freaky Girl," "FTCU" and "Everybody," bring em on.

With several of the 56 dates on this two-leg tour already sold out, even before the first show at the Oakland Arena began, it was already being lauded as "the most successful tour by a female rapper in history."

Minaj will be headlining Rolling Loud in a few weeks in Los Angeles county, and she also has a matching pair of Coachella Sundays open in April if Doja Cat wants to bring her out for "Agora Hills," "Say So," and "Paint the Town Red."

Since this was her first tour since 2019, Minaj had a lot of catching up to do, so as to be expected there was a ton of new material audiences hadn't heard, and even more they haven't had the chance to sing along to in forever.

The lucky Barbs at the Oakland Arena were able to hear live debuts of "Beep Beep," "Pink Birthday." "Favorite," "Cowgirl," "RNB," "Barbie World," "Fallin 4 U," "Let Me Calm Down," and "Pink Friday Girls."

The show also consisted of seven cuts from her 2010 debut, (the original) Pink Friday. That gave us gems like "Super Bass," "Your Love," and "Moment 4 Life."

Each of her other albums were represented in the set as well including "Starships" from Roman Reloaded and "Anaconda" from The Pinkprint.

Speaking of Roman, there was an excellent moment where during "Roman's Revenge,"
Nicki raps while going through several of her different iconic eras: "Harajuku," "Barbie," "Roman," "Red Ruby" and "Chun-Li."

Although it was interesting she was wearing one of her own concert tshirts, during that tune, wouldn't it be more fitting if she had on a fitted, tastefully ripped Eli Manning jersey instead?

The evening had a slight opening night stumble after the first tune, "I'm The Best," Minaj's blue sparkly top had not been removed by whoever is responsible for such things.

So the rapper stood at the top of the stage and improvised "we've gotta take this shirt offffffffff." To which, Charlize, one of her dancers took it upon herself to free The Queen of her glittering corset.

Minaj later thanked her in a tweet:

Nicki will be on the west side of the country until after Rolling Loud where she sends the whole party to the Dirty South for now two shows in Atlanta. Her North American leg ends the middle of May in OKC. Then she takes a two week break before heading to Europe where 20 shows have been booked.

Minaj is one of the most popular rap lyricists, featured guests, and star attractions in hip-hop. The songs she has been on have charted for 1,945 cumulative weeks on the Billboard Hot 100 and Billboard 200 and with the support of this tour, there's no end in sight.

Get your tickets to the Pink Friday 2 World Tour on her website.

“Pink Friday 2” Tour:

Fri Mar 01 – Oakland, CA – Oakland Arena 
Sun Mar 03 – Denver, CO – Ball Arena 
Fri Mar 08 – Las Vegas, NV – T-Mobile Arena 
Sun Mar 10 – Seattle, WA – Climate Pledge Arena 
Wed Mar 13 – Phoenix, AZ – Footprint Center 
Fri Mar 15 – Inglewood, CA – Rolling Loud California*
Mon Mar 18 – New Orleans, LA – Smoothie King Center 
Wed Mar 20 – Atlanta, GA  – State Farm Arena
Thu Mar 21 – Atlanta, GA  – State Farm Arena – JUST ADDED
Fri Mar 22 –  Orlando, FL – Amway Center
Sun Mar 24 – Nashville, TN – Bridgestone Arena – JUST ADDED
Tue Mar 26 –  Charlotte, NC – Spectrum Center
Thu Mar 28 – Newark, NJ – Prudential Center
Fri Mar 29 – Philadelphia, PA – Wells Fargo Center 
Sat Mar 30 – New York, NY – Madison Square Garden 
Mon Apr 01 – Washington, DC – Capital One Arena 
Tue Apr 02 – Baltimore, MD – CFG Bank Arena 
Thu Apr 04 –  Brooklyn, NY – Barclays Center 
Fri Apr 05 – Hartford, CT – XL Center 
Sun Apr 07 – Raleigh, NC – Dreamville Festival*
Mon Apr 08 – Boston, MA – TD Garden – JUST ADDED
Wed Apr 10 – Boston, MA – TD Garden 
Fri Apr 12 – Columbus, OH – Schottenstein Center 
Sat Apr 13 – Milwaukee, WI – Fiserv Forum 
Wed Apr 17 – Montreal, QC – Bell Centre 
Thu Apr 18 – Toronto, ON – Scotiabank Arena 
Sat Apr 20 – Detroit, MI – Little Caesars Arena 
Wed Apr 24 – Chicago, IL – United Center 
Thu Apr 25 – Chicago, IL – United Center – JUST ADDED
Sat Apr 27 – Minneapolis, MN – Target Center 
Tue Apr 30 – Toronto, ON – Scotiabank Arena – JUST ADDED
Wed May 01 –  Brooklyn, NY – Barclays Center – JUST ADDED
Thu May 09 – Houston, TX – Toyota Center 
Sat May 11 – Dallas, TX – American Airlines Center
Sun May 12 – Austin, TX – Moody Center 
Mon May 13 – Oklahoma City, OK – Paycom Center 
Thu May 23 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Ziggo Dome – JUST ADDED
Sat May 25 – Manchester, UK – Co-Op Live 
Sun May 26 – Birmingham, UK – Resorts World Arena 
Tue May 28 – London, UK – The O2 
Wed May 29 – Glasgow, Scotland – OVO Hydro – JUST ADDED
Thu May 30 – Manchester, UK – Co-Op Live – JUST ADDED
Sat Jun 01 – Paris, France – Accor Arena 
Sun Jun 02 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Ziggo Dome 
Tue Jun 04 – Cologne, Germany – Lanxess Arena – JUST ADDED
Wed Jun 05 – Cologne, Germany – Lanxess Arena
Fri Jun 07 – Berlin, Germany – Mercedes Benz Arena
Sun Jun 09 – Paris, France – Accor Arena – JUST ADDED
Tue Jun 11 – Copenhagen, Denmark – Royal Arena – JUST ADDED
Wed Jun 12 – Stockholm, Sweden – Tele2 Arena – JUST ADDED

Super Bass on opening night of the Pink Friday 2 Tour

Karma Police - Please Share:

Most played songs

Last updated: 17 Apr 2024, 22:40 Etc/UTC