Weezer + Pixies Concluded Joint 2019 North American Tour in Vegas

After roughly two months of touring across the U.S., alt-rock legends Weezer and Pixies wrapped their highly-acclaimed joint spring tour! The tour officially came to a close on April 12 in Las Vegas, Nevada, just days before Weezer's headlining (and star-studded) performance at Coachella!
While crowds each night proved to be a mix of ages in various Pixies and Weezer apparel, Weezer lead singer and guitarist Rivers Cuomo kept the majority of fans enthralled from the very beginning of their set with "My Name Is Jonas," which helped the band soar into success more than 20 years ago. After capturing fans' attention throughout the venue, Weezer rolled right through hits like "Buddy Holly" and their cover of "Africa" by Toto. The real surprises came later throughout their 21-track set.
In addition to their alt-rock anthems "Beverly Hills," "Island in the Sun," "Say It Ain't So," and "Pork and Beans," Weezer also brought out a slew of covers as originally heard on their Teal Album. Out of their 21 songs performed, six of them were classic multi-genre covers including Tears For Fears' "Everybody Wants to Rule the World," TLC's "No Scrubs," Black Sabbath's "Paranoid,"and even "Up the Beach" by Jane's Addiction that reinforced the band's patchwork roots.
Check out Weezer's full setlist from Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas, Nevada:
Weezer's Setlist
Toward the latter half of Weezer's set, Cuomo hopped aboard the S.S. Weezer, which was a makeshift wooden dingy boat, around the floor throughout the venue. He performed a solo acoustic version of "The World Has Turned and Left Me Here" as well as A-ha cover "Take On Me," as he sailed through the crevices of Mandalay Bay's floor seats before returning to the stage.
Weezer via YouTube
Earlier in the evening when the Pixies hit the stage, it almost seemed like they were giving Weezer a total run for their money with their setlist of hits that became the energy precursor for the evening. The band featured classic Pixies tunes such as "Here Comes Your Man," "Wave of Mutilation," and "Bone Machine" that reminded everyone in Las Vegas of the righteous paradox in their quietly explosive arrangements.
Pixies kicked off their set with their iconic Surfer Rosa hit "Cactus," before moving into acoustic punk track "Nimrod's Son" from their 1987 Come On Pilgrim EP, among many others. Clearly, their sets have been a successful test of time, as evident from the different generations of fans in attendance.
Pixies via Twitter
As a band that tends to interchange different tracks for each tour stop, the Pixies incorporated another vital track to their show. On their final night of tour, their 24-track set featured their rendition of The Jesus Mary and Chain's "Head On" before moving into back-to-back hits "Where Is My Mind?," "Vamos," and "Gigantic" sans any encore.
Check out the Pixies full setlist from their final show at Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas, Nevada:
Pixies
Miss the chance to catch the Pixies? We got you covered! Although they will be touring solo this time, the band will continue their touring trek over in the U.K. and Europe. The Pixies European tour kicks off in September in the U.K. and promptly ends toward the end of October in Spain.
For all tickets and tour info, head to the Pixies' website. For all setlist updates and coverage, head back over to Setlist.fm!
Pixies 2019 U.K. + European Tour Dates:
Friday September 13, 2019 – CARDIFF Motorpoint Arena (United Kingdom) Saturday September 14, 2019 – PLYMOUTH Pavilions (United Kingdom) Monday September 16, 2019 – BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham (United Kingdom) Tuesday September 17, 2019 – LEEDS O2 Academy Leeds (United Kingdom) Wednesday September 18, 2019 – MANCHESTER O2 Apollo (United Kingdom) Friday September 20, 2019 – LONDON Alexandra Palace (United Kingdom) Saturday September 21, 2019 – NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle (United Kingdom) Sunday September 22, 2019 – GLASGOW O2 Academy Glasgow (United Kingdom) Monday September 23, 2019 – EDINBURGH Usher Hall (United Kingdom) Wednesday September 25, 2019 – BELFAST Ulster Hall (United Kingdom) Thursday September 26, 2019 – DUBLIN Olympia Theatre (Ireland) Sunday September 29, 2019 – OSLO Sentrum Scene (Norway) Monday September 30, 2019 – STOCKHOLM Cirkus (Sweden) Tuesday October 1, 2019 – COPENHAGEN KB Hallen (Denmark) Thursday October 3, 2019 – UTRECHT TivoliVredenburg (Netherlands) Friday October 4, 2019 – TILBURG 013 (Netherlands) Saturday October 5, 2019 – BERLIN Colubiahalle (Germany) Monday October 7, 2019 – COLOGNE Palladium (Germany) Tuesday October 8, 2019 – PRAGUE Lucerna Music Hall (Czech Republic) Wedneday October 9, 2019 – VIENNA Gasometer (Austria) Friday October 11, 2019 – BOLOGNA Estragon (Italy) Saturday October 12, 2019 – TURIN OGR (Italy) Sunday October 13, 2019 – ZURICH X-tra (Switzerland) Tuesday October 15, 2019 – MUNICH Tonhalle (Germany) Wednesday October 16, 2019 – BRUSSELS Forest National (Belgium) Thursday October 17, 2019 – LUXEMBOURG Luxexpo (Luxembourg) Saturday October 19, 2019 – PARIS Olympia (France) Sunday October 20, 2019 – LYON Le Radiant (France) Monday October 21, 2019 – RENNES Le Liberte (France) Wednesday October 23, 2019 – BARCELONA Sant Jordi Club (Spain) Thursday October 24, 2019 – MADRID Riviera (Spain) Friday October 25, 2019 – LISBON Campo Pequeno (Portugal) Saturday October 26, 2019 – GALICIA Coliseum (Spain)


Karma Police - Please Share:

Most played songs

Last updated: 23 Apr 2019, 09:13 Etc/UTC