Fall Out Boy Wraps So Much for (2our) Dust in Minneapolis

Oh, what time to be alive

Yes, that’s a quote from a Fall Out Boy song, and in context it’s not meant to be a good thing. However, it’s also the feeling we’re left with in the wake of So Much for (2our) Dust, the second US leg of Fall Out Boy’s tour in support of their 2023 album So Much (for) Stardust. We covered the first leg when it happened last summer and we definitely celebrated the kick off of what fans dubbed 2ourdust earlier this year, but we had no idea what the rest of the dates would bring. But now the tour has wrapped with an off-the-walls show at the Target Center in Minneapolis and we can finally talk about everything that went down.

Strap in, folks. This is going to be a doozy.

In some ways, this leg seemed to have a lot in common with the first one in the states. The basic setlist covered a lot of Fall Out Boy’s biggest hits over the years, including obvious entries like “Sugar We’re Going Down,” “Dance, Dance,” “Centuries” and “My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light ‘Em Up).” There were also similar elements to the stage, including a giant dog head that seemed to lip sync along with the songs, a disappearing act by Pete Wentz and plenty of pyro. But the production also included some great new touches, including a giant snail and someone wearing a bunny suit. Fall Out Boy even did a great behind the scenes video that showed some of the tour’s secrets.

They also did one that specifically touched on Pete’s magic trick, but we’re not sure how factual that one is.

Citation needed, Mr. Wentz and Mr. Hurley

But we know what you’re here for, and that’s the music. While there were certain songs that remained through the whole tour, there was a lot of rotation in and out from Fall Out Boy’s shockingly extensive catalog. As the tour went on some selections from older albums began to make their way into the setlist, including “Homesick at Space Camp,” “The Pros and Cons of Breathing,” which hadn’t been played since 2007, “Reinventing the Wheel to Run Myself Over,” which also hadn’t been on a setlist since 2007, “The Take Over, The Breaks Over,” “‘Tell That Mick He Just Made My List Of Things To Do Today,’' “Chicago Is So Two Years Ago” featuring guest vocals by Justin Pierre of Motion City Soundtrack and more. Maybe the most surprising addition came during the last dates of the tour when the band played “Moving Pictures,'' a song from Fall Out Boy's Evening Out With Your Girlfriend, their rarely discussed mini-LP from 2003, for the first time since 2005.

Fall Out Boy performs "Moving Pictures" live in 2024

Still with us? Because we haven’t even scratched the surface.

Each show also featured what’s become a sort of Fall Out Boy tradition: a part with either Patrick solo on piano or an acoustic performance leading to some solo Patrick bits. The medley was changed up often, though it always ended on a cover of Queen’s “Don’t Stop Me Now.” Sometimes this meant audiences would get surprises like sections of “Golden,” “Young and Menace,” which hadn’t been played since 2018, “I’ve Got All This Ringing In My Ears and None On My Fingers,” the live debut of “It’s Not a Side Effect of the Cocaine, I Am Thinking It Must Be Love” from the acoustic album My Heart Will Always Be the B-Side to My Tongue, “I’m Like a Lawyer With The Way I’m Always Trying to Get You Off (Me & You),” “Just One Yesterday,” “20 Dollar Nosebleed,” which appeared for the first time since 2013, the above-quoted “What a Time To Be Alive” and, on the final tour date, a completely unreleased demo titled “7-9 Legendary" that had only ever been uploaded to Pete Wentz's blog in 2009.

However! Patrick would often perform a bit of his solo work during this part of the show, almost all of them from his 2011 album Soul Punk, though his theme from Spidey and His Amazing Friends got a huge debut in Madison Square Garden. “Allie” was included early on in the tour and "Run Dry (X Hearts X Fingers)" later on, marking their first performance since 2011. But the most emotional night was in Milwaukee, when Patrick played a cover of the Doobie Brothers “What A Fool Believes” and part of his own song “Spotlight (Oh Nostalgia).” He dedicated both songs to his friend Casey Benjamin, a talented saxophone player who was part of Stump’s touring band, who had passed away on March 30. In a beautiful tribute from his seat at the piano, Patrick talked about Casey’s talent and joy for music while barely holding back tears, saying “he taught me how to smile on stage.” He eventually broke down but continued with the set, after a brief pause and a hug of support from Andy Hurley.

Patrick Stump's tribute to Casey Benjamin

Wait. There’s more. Because the medley very obviously wasn’t the only place for surprises and deep cuts. As anyone who’s been following both the initial tour and 2ourdust would know, every night the band performs what they call the “Magic 8-Ball” song, a surprise song supposedly “determined” by a Magic 8-Ball graphic on the stage’s screens. Some dates were treated to two songs. And then on the final tour date Patrick “ran loose in the 8-Ball factory” according to the band played SIX Magic 8-Ball songs while the audience in attendance and those of us keeping track via social media lost our damn minds.

The full list of Magic 8-Ball songs from 2ourdust (some of these were played on multiple dates but are only included on the list once):

  • “G.I.N.A.S.F.S.”
  • “Sophomore Slump Or Comeback Of the Year”
  • “27”
  • “7 Minutes In Heaven (Atavan Halen)”
  • “Good Girls Go Bad” (Cobra Starship cover, featuring Gabe and Vicky-T from Cobra Starship on vocals and keytar)
  • “The Kids Aren’t Alright”
  • “Don’t You Know Who I Think I Am”
  • “Tiffany Blews” (first performance since 2009)
  • “Young Volcanoes”
  • “Alpha Dog” (first full performance ever)
  • “I’m Like a Lawyer With the Way I’m Always Trying To Get You Off (Me & You)” (first full performance since 2014)
  • “Just One Yesterday” (first performance since 2014)
  • “Miss Missing You”
  • “Get Busy Living Or Get Busy Dying (Do Your Part To Save the Scene and Stop Going To Shows)” (first full performance)
  • “Slow Down” (The Academy Is… cover, featuring special guest William Beckett on vocals)
  • “I Am My Own Muse”
  • “Wilson (Expensive Mistakes)” (first performance since 2018)
  • “The Music or the Misery” (first performance since 2006)
  • “Fourth of July” (first performance since 2017)
  • “The Kintsugi Kid (Ten Years)”
  • “Jet Pack Blues” (first full performance since 2018)
  • “Pavlove”
  • “What a Time to Be Alive” (full band version)
  • “‘From Now On, We Are Enemies’”
  • “Honorable Mention” (first performance since 2007)
  • “The Carpal Tunnel of Love” (first performance since 2008)
  • “Rat a Tat” (live debut, featuring CARR on guest vocals)
The general response to Fall Out Boy debuting "Rat a Tat" live

So now that 2ourdust has wrapped, what’s next for Fall Out Boy? More tour dates? Headed back into the studio? A good long rest? We don’t know yet. But we are absolutely going to be paying attention no matter what it is. That is, after we take a little nap because being a fan on this tour has been exhausting in the best way possible.

Karma Police - Please Share:

Most played songs